Matt Dawson, this year’s host of the British International Freight Association’s 2021 Freight Service Awards, said that all the winners demonstrated a clear understanding of overcoming last minute challenges to achieve success, which reminded him of his own final mile, or last minute, delivery to Jonny Wilkinson in 2003, who then scored a drop goal that enabled England to win the Rugby World Cup.

There were many outstanding entries for the 2021 Awards, presented yesterday (Thursday January 20th) at The Brewery in London despite a year beset by multiple operational difficulties and uncertainties caused by the pandemic and EU Exit.

A raffle held in aid of international development charity, Transaid, raised £3,600.

In the Air Cargo Services category, which was sponsored by IAG Cargo, Kerry Logistics triumphed over fellow finalists Maltacourt, Pentagon, and Uniserve Group.

Winner of the Ocean Services Award, sponsored by Port Express, was Allseas Global Logistics, which overcame strong challenges from fellow finalists NNR Global Logistics and Vikstar.

Ace Forwarding took first place in the Project Forwarding category, sponsored by Peter Lole Insurance Brokers, ahead of fellow finalists AsstrA UK Ltd, LV Logistics, and Ucargo LLP.

In the Specialist Services category, newly sponsored by Newage, the winner was Your Special Delivery Service Ltd, whilst the other finalists included B&H Worldwide Ltd, Cargo Overseas Ltd, and Kerry Logistics.  

Brunel European was revealed as the winner of the Supply Chain Management category, sponsored by BoxTop Technologies, seeing off strong competition from fellow finalists Hemisphere Freight Services Ltd, Noatum Logistics Ltd, and Uniserve.

Scooping first place in the Cool & Special Cargoes category, sponsored by American Airlines Cargo was JSC Livestock which overcame excellent entries from fellow finalists, Evolution Forwarding Ltd, and United Worldwide Logistics.

Hemisphere Freight Services literally went the extra mile to win the Extra Mile Award, sponsored by Descartes, ahead of the entries from fellow finalists Evolution Forwarding Ltd, Pentagon, and Unsworth UK.

Victorious against fellow finalists Aramex (UK) Ltd, Espace Europe Ltd, and Reliable Shipping Ltd, Unsworth UK triumphed in the Staff Development category, which was sponsored by Albacore Systems.

In the returning European Logistics category, which was sponsored by TT Club, the winner was Killick Martin & Company, with the other finalists being Espace European, Simarco Worldwide Logistics, and Unsworth UK.

Winner of the Apprentice of the Year category, which was sponsored by Seetec Outsource Training was Herbie Cobby (Geodis Freight Forwarding), who beat the other finalists, which were Matt Vick (John Good Logistics), Joshua Boswell (Geodis Freight Forwarding), Bobby Lowe (NVO Consolidation), and Thomas Low (OIA Global).

Meanwhile, Laura Hobby (FS Mackenzie) impressed the judges with her passion for the industry to win the Young Freight Forwarder category, which is sponsored by Virgin Atlantic Cargo. Fellow finalists were Ronan Kitchin (Aramex UK); Milos Bogovac (ZenCargo), Corey Chambers (Ital Logistics) and Jamie Halliday (Tudor International Freight).

Finally, BIFA Director General, Robert Keen presented a Special Recognition Award for services to the international freight industry, as well as charitable activities, to Gordon Day, who, after retiring from the industry after a very successful career, is now a stalwart of the London Freight Club and well known to many BIFA members.

 After a truly extraordinary and very challenging two years, it is great to meet in person to celebrate excellence across the freight forwarding industry, with awards that are now in their 33rd year, and justifiably regarded as the most prestigious in the sector. Once again, BIFA was delighted with the range of entries received from BIFA Members that managed to take the time to document their achievements while continuing to manage their businesses through incredibly trying times, which is a testament to their tenacity. I congratulate all the companies that won each category, as well as those that were shortlisted as finalists. I would also would like to recognise the support and contribution of the sponsors to the running of the competition this year. Representatives from the category sponsors have given their time to carry out judging and the selection of winners for each award.