Four inspirational logistics champions have been honoured at the annual Women in Logistics prize-giving ceremony.

The Leader of the Year Award prize was presented to Jacqueline O’Donovan of O’Donovan Waste Disposal, while Sarah Shaw from the University of Hull was given a rare “highly commended” award, proving just how tough the competition was.

The Diversity Champion of the Year Award (sponsored by The Forton Group) was won by Jennifer Swain of JPS, and the under 30 Young Woman of the Year Award (sponsored by DHL) was won by Kelly Wilson of Dynamic Medical.

DHL also earned the Company of the Year Award for its role as an employer promoting diversity in the workplace.

The awards ceremony was at an exclusive dinner and ball, where logistics professionals from throughout the UK gathered to celebrate the year’s successes.

The festivities, which take place each year, were organised by Women in Logistics, a membership group formed in 2008 to increase the number of women in the industry, improve life for those women already working in logistics and to address the gender imbalance issue.

Clare Bottle of Women in Logistics said: “WIL champions the vital contribution that women must make, to ensure the sustainability and success of the logistics sector within the UK economy. 

“Our prize-giving ceremony provides a platform to showcase the talents and achievements of some exceptional role-models and we are delighted to be able to share their stories with a wide audience. By learning about our winners, we hope others will believe in themselves even more and be inspired to sponsor the women around them too.”

The awards and charity ball this year raised £4000 to support Transaid, a charity that tackles poverty and disadvantage by building transport skills and knowledge in the developing world.