The British International Freight Association – – has chosen double Olympic champion Dame Kelly Holmes as the host for its annual Freight Service Awards competition.

Entries to the awards, which are now in their 30th year, are now open and BIFA Director General, Robert Keen says that any company looking to go for gold in these awards can have no finer example to follow that someone who struck Olympic gold twice in Athens in 2004.

Keen says: “Olympic gold is the ultimate reward for endeavour and professionalism. Our awards also encourage and reward high standards and professionalism. Both represent the ultimate recognition of special achievement.”

BIFA’s Freight Service Awards are open to all members of the trade association, which represents UK companies engaged in the international movement of freight by all modes of transport.

Sponsored by a number of blue chip companies, each of the ten award categories is recognised as very prestigious and winning an award has become more coveted year-on-year.

The deadline for entry is October 8th.

The awards ceremony luncheon is an annual event on the industry calendar. This event will take place at The Brewery in London on Thursday 17 January next year when Dame Kelly Holmes will host more than 500 BIFA members and their guests.  It will provide a valuable opportunity for attendees to acknowledge the winners as well as networking with people from within the industry.

Adds Robert Keen: “The awards represent the chance for the best in the UK freight forwarding and logistics industry to be recognised by their peers, and every year the standards of entry improve. As we organise the awards for their 30th year we are looking forward to yet another successful competition with a large number of entrants.

“Every year, after the awards have taken place, I get members who say that they wish they had entered. So I would urge all members to think about their applications now, so they don’t have any regrets later.

“The awards are an important part of BIFA’s mission to encourage our members in their pursuit of improved standards and excellence within the logistics and supply chain industry.”

The BIFA Freight Service Awards are separated into eleven categories, as follows:

General categories

Project Forwarding Award – sponsored by Peter Lole Insurance Brokers
Specialist Services Award – sponsored by Forward Computers
Staff Development Award – sponsored by Albacore Systems
Supply Chain Management Award – sponsored by BoxTop Technologies

Modal categories

Air Cargo Services Award – sponsored by IAG Cargo
European Logistics Award – sponsored by TT Club
Ocean Services Award – sponsorship package available

Specialist categories

Cool award – sponsored by American Airlines Cargo
Extra Mile award – sponsored by Descartes

Individual category

• Young Freight Forwarder of the Year Award – sponsored by Virgin Atlantic Cargo

Further information relating to entries and luncheon reservations can be obtained by visiting the BIFA